Four Conference Titles | Five All-Americans | Three Academic All-Americans

@CentreSoccer Captures Alumni Classic Crown with 1-0 Win over Austin

@CentreSoccer Captures Alumni Classic Crown with 1-0 Win over Austin

DANVILLE, Ky. ( – Sophomore Jacob Haddad's (Brentwood, Tenn.) second half goal gave the Centre men's soccer team a 1-0 victory over visiting Austin on Friday night at Hillside Field, capturing the inaugural Centre College Alumni Classic crown. The Colonels improved to 2-0-0 with the triumph after defeating Georgetown (Ky.) by a score of 4-0 on Thursday night.

The event featured teams with four alumni head coaches, as Centre welcomed back Austin College head coach Mark Hudson '99, Georgetown College (Ky.) head coach Derek Willis '01 and Spalding University head coach Adam Boyer '09 in addition to Centre head coach Jeb Burch '94.

Austin finished second (1-1-0) followed by Georgetown third (1-1-0) and Spalding fourth (0-2-0).

Following a scoreless first half, Haddad found the back of the net off the double assist by senior forward Christian Gateskill (Danville, Ky.) and senior midfielder Eric Muth (Louisville, Ky.) in the 51st minute.

The Kangaroos had a great scoring chance with just over three minutes to play in the game on a Chris Abad-Jacobi shot, but Centre sophomore goalkeeper Bailey Spade (Frankfort, Ky.) made a diving save to preserve the Colonels' one-goal lead.

Spade finished with three saves on the night for Centre, while Austin goalie Joseph Khalaf made four stops.  

Shots were an even 11-11 in the contest.

The Colonels return to action in the 27th Annual Bob Allen Nissan Classic next Friday, Sept. 9 at 7:30 p.m. against Heidelberg.

Spade, Gateskill, Haddad and senior midfielder Phil Shehan (Orlando, Fla.) were named to the Classic XI. The full Classic XI can be found below.


Centre – 1st Place

Christian Gateskill

Bailey Spade

Jacob Haddad

Phil Shehan

Austin – 2nd Place

Joseph Khalaf

Levin Dyson

Garrett Matacale

Georgetown – 3rd Place

Nick Gregory

Blaine Skeen

Spalding – 4th Place

Joey Lesher

Finn Kola